All About Philippa Anderson

Up close and personal with the other Ando

Check out the Ion wetsuit range

Philippa grew up with her older brother Craig on the beautiful South African coast at Port Elizabeth. Having a father that surfed and living across from the beach it was easy to see that both kids were going to end up loving the ocean, running down to the beach before and after school and spending hours in the water. In her own words, Philippa’s childhood was every bit as idyllic as it sounds. “I am so blessed to have grown up the way I did,” she admits.

Philippa started surfing from the age of 10 where it was just fun and games. Her dad played a big role in teaching how to surf and after the family emigrated to Australia, she surfed in her first Under12 Girls Division in the RipCurl Grom Search. She had so much fun, and the other competitive girls pushed her to want to surf better, being the competitive human that she is today. Her big push to want to be a professional surfer was after her successful Pro Junior Career, finishing 2nd in the World Pro Junior for two years in row. “After coming so close to a win I knew this is what I wanted to do.”

Philippa, lately you were entitled “the best female surfer not on the world tour.” What kind of motivation does this statement mean to you?

There are so many amazing female surfers right now that are not on tour, to have that title aimed at me, I feel really honored. Seeing girls like Courtney and Sally who train, surf and mentally are strong it pushes me to want to be the best I can be. It motivates me not only to show everyone that I can make the tour, but also to prove to myself that I can do it.

You decided to start a journey to compete and qualify for the WCT now.
How do you feel about your upcoming journey?

I used to be pretty intimidated but now I look back and wonder why I was. I’ve started to focus purely on myself and goals and this year its really shown in my results. I’m really excited about what lies ahead, and at the moment I’m really enjoying my fitness training, surfing and the support I have had from my family, friends, the Newcastle community and others from around the world with my Indiegogo Crowdfunding Campaign. It has been amazing and I’m so blessed to be where I am today.

If you could do anything you wanted right now?
Be on a tropical island with my partner and friends surfing epic waves

Where do you most want to travel, but have never been?

Favourite memory?
Camping with freinds and family in South Africa

What has been your biggest challenge?
Losing my major sponsor and the loss of confidence that came with it.

What is your biggest success up until now?

There are a few that to me highlight my career, one would be winning the Australasian Pro Junior Tour, placing 2nd in the World Pro Junior Championship.

What is the one thing that should be taught in school that isn’t?
Explain anything and everything to do with banking and taxes AND the process of how to buy a house.

If you were to create a piece of art, what would the subject be?
The countryside

How would your friends describe you?
Ah probably a bit crazy and funny when I want to be.

Ion’s MUSE Shorty range, a must have for any water babe’s action-packed outings,  features:

 . Seam_Reinforcements . Contour_Cut

. Drain_Holes
. Key_Loop
. Carry bag (Neokini 1,5)



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.