Volcom Fiji Pro 2012 Teaser: 3rd-15th June

Only a few days to go now before the official waiting period commences for the highly-anticipated Volcom Fiji Pro. Current ratings front-runner Joel Parkinson had this to say on who he thought might go good out there:

“I reckon the Hobgood brothers (C.J. and Damien) are amazing out there, they read the place better than probably anyone, and of course Kelly (Slater) has been surfing the place since he was a kid so he’s got it pretty dialed too,” Parkinson said. “But it’ll be interesting because it’s been five years since the last Fiji contest, so there are a bunch of guys on tour now who haven’t surfed the place and one of those guys might surprise us.”

Parko who finished equal 5th in 2008 (when the contest ran last) has returned to the islands every year since, so as far as familiarity goes he should be one of the more comfortable out in the lineup.

However, after John John’s win in Brazil, all eyes will once again be on the new class of trophey-contending rookies, including Volcom team rider Mitch Coleborn who has been chosen as one of two wildcards. The powerful Sunshine coast goofy footer will no doubt be a talent to be reckoned with on his forehand ou there.

“Tavarua is one of my favorite places in the world,” says Mitch. “To compete at a world-class wave makes for a really even playing field. Everyone will get sick waves, from the vets to the rookies; it comes down to your surfing and keeps match-ups real fair. I can’t wait.”

The remaining wildcard will go to a local surfer who is deemed the overall champion of three separate trial events run by the Fiji Surfing Association (FSA).

Swell charts are showing all kinds of red in the South Pacific heading directly for Fiji… this thing can go down straight out the gates. Tune in on June 3rd at

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Brett Simpson (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Isei Tokovu (FIJ)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 9: John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Michel Bourez (PYF), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.