Team Regular Claims First etnies GvR of Surf Title!

Sebastian Zietz Took First in the Contest and was voted MVP by the Regular Team

Oceanside, Calif. – The Regular team dominated the etnies GvR of Surf finals in Oceanside today and won the event. The offshore winds and consistent head-high surf made the conditions arguably the best SoCal’s seen this year! Regular footer Sebastian Zeitz was a barrel magnet throughout the finals earning first place and the team’s MVP title.

Sebastian spent a lot of time in the shade during the contest.

The Regulars put Surfing magazine’s editor-in-chief Evan Slater in charge as Team Captain. When the final buzzer sounded signifying the end of the contest, the Regular team riders poured an ice-chest over his head and started throwing some high-fives!

Psyched on taking home $8,000 Sebastian held his giant check up high right after Pierre André Senizergues, CEO and owner of etnies, presented it to him.

Wearing the captain’s hat for the Goofy’s team was TransWorld Surf editor Chris Coté, and he had more pride for his stance than anyone. With a red wetsuit and jacket, Coté wore the Goofy team’s color in and out of the water all weekend, hired sign twirlers to campaign for the Goofy team on street corners in Oceanside and stuck “Team Goofy” signs up and down the beach!

GvR Results:

Total Weekend Prize Purse – $50,000

Regular Team:

1. Team MVP Sebastian Zietz – $8,000

2. Jay Thompson – $4,500

3. Austin Ware — $2,000

4. Toby Martin – $1,500

5. * Cheyne Magnusson – $2,500

6. * Ratboy – $2,000

7. * Kieren Horn – $2,000

8. Chris Waring – $1,000

9. Noi Kaulukakui – $1,000

10. * Adam Virs – $2,000

11. Brandon Guilmette – $1,000

12. Jason Bennet – $1,000

13. * Sunny Garcia – $2,000

14. Kyle Knox – $1,000

15. Sean Marceron – $1,000

Goofy Team:

1. * Timmy Curran – $2,000

2. * Cory Arrambide – $2,000

3. * Mike Losness – $2,000

4. * Mike Todd – $2,000

5. * Tonino Benson – $2,000

6. Travis Mellem – $750

7. Eric Snortum – $750

8. Ricky Whitlock – $750

9. Matt Keenan – $750

10. Dylan Slater – $750

11. Josh Buran – $750

12. Jeremy Heit – $750

13. Ryan Carlson – $750

14. Kai Barger – $750

15. Jesse Merle Jones – $750

The * symbolizes the five riders selected by the team captain for the final team. Each of these team riders received an automatic $1,000 going into the finals.

After the end of the etnies GvR of Surf qualifiers on Saturday, MxPx played a free show at the bandshell located next to the Oceanside Pier at 5:00 p.m. A crowd of surfers and Oceanside locals gathered to hear MxPx’s fast-paced punk rock songs.

Check out the GvR Etnies Surf website for additional info, pictures and a web cast.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.