Quiksilver Big Wave Invitational


One coveted invitation, an indicator of one’s status in the elite club of big-wave riders, sends surfers all over the world charging toward their mailboxes to see where they stand. The 2006/2007 invitees for The Quiksilver, Big Wave Invitational in Memory of Eddie Aikau, have been officially announced. Scheduled to take place at the hallowed grounds of Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, between December 1 and February 28. The Quiksilver, a one-day event, requires a minimum of 20-foot surf.

Created in 1986 to honor the legendary Hawaiian waterman Eddie Aikau, the event gathers the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the world as polled by a collection of influential and experienced watermen. Past winners Clyde Aikau (1986), Keone Downing (1990), Noah Johnson (1999), Ross Clarke-Jones (2001), Kelly Slater (2002) and Bruce Irons (2004). Following is a complete list of invitees and alternates for this year’s event.

INVITEES: (In alphabetical order)

  • Clyde Aikau (Hawaii)
  • Ross Clarke-Jones (Australia)
  • Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
  • Keone Downing (Hawaii)
  • Sunny Garcia (Hawaii)
  • Mark Healey (Hawaii)
  • Michael Ho (Hawaii)
  • Andy Irons (Hawaii)
  • Bruce Irons (Hawaii)
  • Noah Johnson (Hawaii)
  • Brian Keaulana (Hawaii)
  • Rusty Keaulana (Hawaii)
  • Titus Kinimaka (Hawaii)
  • Brock Little (Hawaii)
  • Peter Mel (California)
  • Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii)
  • Myles Padaca (Hawaii)
  • Paul Paterson (Australia)
  • Tony Ray (Australia)
  • Makua Rothman (Hawaii)
  • Kelly Slater (Florida)
  • Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)
  • Pancho Sullivan (Hawaii)
  • Darryl “Flea” Virostko (California)

ALTERNATES: (In seeding order)

  • 1. Darrick Doerner (Hawaii)
  • 2. Taylor Knox (USA)
  • 3. Kalani Chapman (Hawaii)
  • 4. Tony Moniz (Hawaii)
  • 5. Braden Dias (Hawaii)
  • 6. Reef McIntosh (Hawaii)
  • 7. Ross Williams (Hawaii)
  • 8. Tom Carroll (Australia)
  • 9. Keoni Watson (Hawaii)
  • 10. Tamayo Perry (Hawaii)
  • 11. Ian Walsh (Hawaii)
  • 12. Anthony Tashnik (California)
  • 13. Mel Kinney (Hawaii)
  • 14. Derek Ho (Hawaii)
  • 15. Kala Alexander (Hawaii)
  • 16. Chava Greenlee (Hawaii)
  • 17. Tom Curren (California)
  • 18. Ryan Rawson (Hawaii)
  • 19. Dustin Barca (Hawaii)
  • 20. Mike Parsons (California)
  • 21. Dave Wassel (Hawaii)
  • 22. Elijah Young (Hawaii)
  • 23. Danny Fuller (Hawaii)
  • 24. Carlos Burle (Brazil)

Location: Waimea Bay, North Shore, Oahu

Opening Ceremony: Thursday, November 30, 2006. 3pm

Event Holding Period: December 1, 2006 to February 28, 2007.

To be held on one day when surf measures at least 20 feet (40 feet faces).

The Big-Wave Riders: 24 of the world’s best big-wave riders, including defending champion Bruce Irons (Hawaii), eight-time world champion-elect Kelly Slater (Florida), and Aikau’s younger brother and former champion Clyde Aikau. US$94,000 in prize money, US$55,000 for first place.

For further information go directly to


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.