Boost Mobile Pro Lay Day, Round 2 Looks Good for Today

The highly anticipated Round 2 clashes of ASP frontrunners Andy Irons (HAW), Taj Burrow (AUS) and Joel Parkinson (AUS) versus lethal wildcards Sunny Garcia (HAW), Dane Reynolds (USA) and Jordy Smith (ZAF) respectively will look to begin today following another lay day for the Boost Mobile Pro presented by Hurley yesterday.

Into the third day of the seven-day waiting period, event No. 6 of 10 on the Foster’s ASP World Tour was greeted with clean-yet-inconsistent one-to-three foot (0.5 metre) swell yesterday morning at Lower Trestles, prompting event organizers to call Boost Mobile Pro competition off for the day in hopes of the swell filling in over the remainder of the waiting period.

“The surf is clean this morning but still a little bit small and more inconsistent than we would prefer,” Event Director Mike Parsons said. “After talking with our forecasters at Surfline, it looks like we will have slightly improved conditions over the next couple of days with the potential for some fun-sized surf on Saturday. Next call will be at 7:30am for a possible 8am start tomorrow.”

The Boost Mobile Pro waiting period stretches to Saturday September 15th with a call on competition status made each morning on ‘The Dawn Patrol,’ a TV quality production being webcast LIVE on at 7:30am local time. Round 2 will look to begin today at 8am sharp with all 16 heats webcast LIVE at


Heat 1: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Sunny Garcia (HAW)

Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Dane Reynolds (USA)

Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)

Heat 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)

Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)

Heat 6: Daniel Wills (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)

Heat 7: Travis Logie (ZAF) vs. Troy Brooks (AUS)

Heat 8: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Trent Munro (AUS)

Heat 9: Pancho Sullivan (HAW vs. Mark Occhilupo (AUS)

Heat 10: Cory Lopez (USA) vs. Shaun Cansdell (AUS)

Heat 11: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)

Heat 12: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Victor Ribas (BRA)

Heat 13: Phillip MacDonald (AUS) vs. Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)

Heat 14: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) vs. Michael Lowe (AUS)

Heat 15: Bernardo Miranda (BRA) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)

Heat 16: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.