Billabong Pro Junior

The Billabong Pro Junior contest took place in Ericeira, Portugal this weekend. The event, which ran from August 25-27, completes the Euro Pro Junior Tour (EPSA)

After a fantastic weekend of competition in consistent 3ft waves, Joan Duru and Lee Ann Curren were crowned the 2006 ASP European Junior Champions on Sunday.

The Billabong Pro Junior Ericeira event was won by Australia’s Michael Spencer, who put up a vaiant battle against Brazil’s William Cardoso, France’s Marc Lacomare and Australian Dion Atkinson. However, none could steal the overall EPSA title from Duru.

In the Girls’ event, Alizee Arnaud (France) won the finals to Lee Ann Curren (France), Garazi Sanchez (Spain) and Pauline Ado (France), with Curren’s second place securing her the overall EPSA title.

The event also determined the 6 qualified surfers for the Billabong World Junior Championships to be held in North Narrabeen, Australia, Jan 1-8, 2007.

At this stage, Joan Duru, Marc Lacomare, Jean Sebastien Estienne, Romain Cloitre and Adrien Toyon are confirmed to represent Europe at the main event. The 6th ticket is yet to be allocated. Lee Ann Curren and Alizée Arnaud will be competing in the Girls’ main event.

For more information, click on to: or


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.