Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Round 1 ON in Pumping Waves

Pictured: Dane Reynolds (USA), 24, current ASP World No. 6, will face off against Daniel Ross (AUS), 27, and Marco Polo (BRA), 28, in Round 1 of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bays. Credit: © ASP / CESTARI

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay has been called ON this morning with clean four-to-six (2 metre) waves steaming down the point.

Event No. 4 of 10 on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay is looking at an excellent forecast to kick off the waiting period and the world’s best surfers will take to the water at 8am this morning for Round 1 of competition.

“We’ve awoken to pristine conditions at Jeffreys this morning with consistent four-to-six foot (2 metre) waves on offer and we’ll be commencing competition at 8am,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We plan on a full day of competition and good luck to all the boys today.”

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay is turning into an event of two tales: 1) the red-hot ASP World Title Race with Kelly Slater (USA), 38, campaigning for his 10 ASP World Title, and 2) the cutthroat mid-year field reduction from the ASP Top 45 to 32.

With the top seeds gunning for the ASP World Title and the low seeds battling for survival amongst the world’s elite, today’s picturesque conditions are poised to deliver unprecedented levels of performance and intensity.

Joel Parkinson (AUS), 29, defending event winner and current ASP World No. 8, and Kai Otton (AUS), current ASP World No. 18, have both withdrawn due to injury and will be replaced by Timmy Reyes (USA), 28, and Joal Duru (FRA), 21, respectively.

The draw will be rounded out by Sean Holmes (ZAF), 32, and Shaun Joubert (ZAF), 19, both awarded wildcards into the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, with the third being decided in this morning’s four-man VZ Wildcard Trials.

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be webcast LIVE via

Up first this morning will be Taylor Knox (USA), 39, Luke Munro (AUS), 27, and Adam Melling (AUS), 25, in the opening heat of Round 1.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Taylor Knox (USA), Luke Munro (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 2: Jadson Andre (BRA), Andy Irons (HAW), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Luke Stedman (AUS), Nate Yeomans (USA)
Heat 4: Dane Reynolds (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS), Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Blake Thornton (AUS)
Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Tom Whitaker (USA), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), TBA
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), TBA
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS), Roy Powers (HAW), TBA
Heat 11: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 13: Michel Bourez (PYF), Dean Morrison (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 14: Chris Davidson (AUS), Mick Campbell (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 15: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 16: Owen Wright (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Drew Courtney (AUS)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.