Ready for The Eddie?

The best thing about The Eddie is perhaps that it generally doesn’t even happen.

Only held when legit 25ft Hawaiian surf is pounding the fabled break of Waimea Bay on Oahu’s North Shore, even a 3 month waiting period (Dec thru Feb) usually isn’t enough to do the do for an esteemed list of invitees and alternates that includes retirement age legends, the best big wave riders in the world from Hawaii and across the world and even monsieur Jeremy Flores.

Not run since 2009, are we due an Eddie this 14/15 winter season?

Past Eddie winners:
1985/1986 Denton Miyamura
1989/1990 Keone Downing
2000/2001 Ross Clarke-Jones
2004/2005 Bruce Irons
1986/1987 Clyde Aikau
1998/1999 Noah Johnson
2001/2002 Kelly Slater
2009/2010 Greg Long

Do you like to wait 5 years between your fave big wave events to avoid overkill, or prefer em once a month?

And, be honest… have you ever heard of Denton Miyamura???


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.