Volcom Butterfish Surf Series

The third stop on the Butterfish Surf Series went off on January 6th at Pipes in Ventura under sunny skies, freezing offshore winds and 4-6 ft peelers. At first light all that could be seen was feathering right handers coming down the point with groms creeping out of the dark to sign up for a day of slashing at Pipes. Here are some highlights from the finals, courtesy of the folks at Volcom…

In the Girls final Demi Bolsterli wasted no time. She went all out, lighting up the point at Ventura and scored a 9.5 on one of her waves and then backed it up with a 9.0 on her next wave. She took the win in the Girls Final along with a Sector 9 skate deck, custom trophy and a Volcom backpack stuffed with goodies. Taking a respectable second was Chelsea Rauhut with Marissa Hood, Bo Stanley, Jamie Hannula, and Maxcy Darcy rounding out the final.

The Groms were charging all day, taking off on overhead grinders and ripping them up all the way down the point. Conrad Carr started off the final with a high score, but he couldn’t back it up with another solid one. Sam Reagan was on a roll, winning his earlier heats and looked hungry for a victory. However, he fell victim to Kevin Collins who locked into the right waves and found himself in the winners circle, with a Peavey Electric Guitar, Santa Cruz skate deck and bag full of other goods. Rounding out the final was Sam Reagan, Conrad Carr, Andrew Jacobson, Joey Merino and Tim Spalding.

The Juniors final was stacked with all the up-and-coming kids from Ventura. Mike McCabe had been destroying his earlier heats and look to be the favorite to win, however he couldn’t find the right waves in the final to capitalize on. Dustin Willman’s impressive 8.0 ride had him in the lead for most of the heat, but then Spencer Reagan found a gem to go ballistic on and score a 9.0. He took home a Zoo York skate deck, H20 audio Ipod housing and grip load of other goodies for the win. Dustin Willman, Matt McCabe, Kokoro Tomatsuri, Mike McCabe and Evan Watson rounded out the final.

In the Pro-Am final, Hank Mills capitalized on a good right hander early on, scoring an 8.0. However, Pete Mussio quickly answered back with a long right and finished it off with an air reverse. He then found another lined up right to punt another air on. He had the final rapped up with only a few minutes to go. Hank Mills still only had one wave and needed a second scoring ride. Hank found the wave he needed with 20 seconds to go and scored just enough, barely edging out Pete for the win and $500 cash. Rounding out the final was Teddy Travers, Yves Bright, Bummy Keopenick and Keoni Cuccia.



1. Hank Mills $500

2. Pete Mussio

3. Teddy Travers

4. Yves Bright

5. Bummy Keopenick

6. Keono Cuccia


1. Spencer Reagan

2. Dustin Willman

3. Matt McCabe

4. Kokoro Tomatsuri

5. Mike McCabe

6. Evan Watson


1. Kevin Collins

2. Sam Reagan

3. Conrad Carr

4. Andrew Jacobson

5. Joey Merino

6. Tim Spalding


1. Demi Boelsterli

2. Chelsea Rauhut

3. Marissa Hood

4. Bo Stanley

5. Jamie Hannula

6. Maxcy Darcy


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.