Nixon ‘Winner Takes All’ moves on to Mundaka September 29

The third stop of the 2008 Nixon WTA will take place at the Billabong Pro in Mundaka, Euskadi, from September 29 through October 12. The WTA in Mundaka will be awarded to the surfer who clocks the longest tube from trials to finals.

“We are really excited to be back in Mundaka, the birth place of the Nixon WTA – Winner Takes All Competition,” noted Nixon Europe’s Brand Manager, Henning Erlandsen. “The competitive nature of the surfers has already kicked in- previous winners of the WTA are getting their mileage out of teasing their mates and our goal of sparking some fun competition between the Top 45 is evident on the tour.”

Ryan Hipwood of Australia kicked off this year’s WTA victories after taking home the prize this past May at Teahupoo for riding the heaviest wave. Taylor Knox followed suit in July at J-Bay for achieving the highest heat score in the first round of competition. After Mundaka, the WTA will head on to North Shore of Oahu in mid-November where the final prize for the year will be awarded to the overall Triple Crown winner.

Video content of each of the WTA stops and winners will be available to view on

Now in its second year, the Nixon WTA is a winner-take-all event, which awards a custom, limited edition Nixon timepiece at four different stops along the ASP World Tour. Each of the custom Nixon 51-30 tide watches feature a gunmetal finish, a custom-engraved WTA case back, and diamond baguette indices alternating with hand applied flags representing each of the four contest regions. These four one-of-a-kind timepieces are each valued at over $10,000 USD.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.