Nixon Surf Challenge Set for San Sebastian

Nixon is excited to announce the dates for the 8th Annual Nixon Surf Challenge, which will take place September 21-23, 2007 at Playa Zurriola in San Sebastian, Spain. The Nixon Surf Challenge draws in top talent from all over the globe each year with its unique peer-judged format and scoring with an emphasis on style, creativity and large maneuvers.

“Coming from the ASP side of things I always thought the Surf Challenge was just another local event,” admits Nixon Europe’s Sports Marketing Manager Jan Holzer. “But now, after being part of it for the last two years, I can’t wait to head to San Sebastian. The contest is uniquely different and the event is always fun. It’s my all time favorite event in one of my all time favorite cities.”

With the winner taking home 5,000 Euros and a draw limited to 24 invited surfers, the Surf Challenge creates an ideal environment for participants to showcase their talent. Keeping the competition friendly is just one of many aspects which makes the Surf Challenge so unique and both a favorite and highly anticipated stop on the travel circuit for many.

Located in the center of San Sebastian, Playa Zurriola is set against a dramatic backdrop of historic architecture and the Pyrenees Mountains surrounding the Basque region. The intimate atmosphere means most of the group stays together for much of the event. An outdoor living room is set up on the beach for team riders and friends to lounge around in during the contest as they order their favorite cuisine from a private chef who is on hand just meters away from the action taking place in the nearby surf.

Nightlife and local Basque culture are folded into the mix with the group attending a large traditional Basque dinner. The group of contest attendees and friends then head to the local cider houses while being lead down the cobblestone streets by local Basque musicians. The enthusiasm of the invited riders and locals alike never fails and in the past has included tours of the city’s historic landmarks and visits to local ale houses and tapas bars.

Dylan Graves of Puerto Rico won last year’s Surf Challenge, taking the title his first year in attendance. Graves will return this year to defend his 2006 victory.

Past winners include:

2005 – Josh Kerr (Australia)

2004 – Tiago Pires (Portugal)

2003 – Miky Picon (France)

2002 – Fredo Robin (France)

2001 – Jonathan Gonzalez (Canary Islands)

2000 – Eric McHenry (United States)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.