Mr Price Pro Ballito 2013

Mr Price Pro Ballito 2013

It was an all-star final for last week's prime Mr Price Pro Ballito, with Jules Wilson eventually taking down home favourite and travelling world tour buddy Jordy Smith, with an inspired aerial performance in front of a capacity crowd.

“I’m really happy to get the win!" Wilson said of his 18.93 to 16.70 victory over Smith. “It’s my third time in Durban and I’ve gotten a good result each time. I really enjoy spending time here, it’s a great place with friendly people where I feel warm and comfortable. It definitely helps with my results."

While home favourite Jordy assumed an early lead to put Wilson in a combination situation, it was Julian Wilson’s high-risk approach that finally paid off.

Knowing he needed something extra-ordinary to take the win, Wilson put everything on the line, completing an extremely critical Alley Oop aerial maneuver to score the first perfect 10 of the contest, then following up with a 8.93 slob grab reverse aerial manoeuvre.

The prime event also hosted various promising performances and results from the European WQS contingent, notably Basque Country tour veteran Aritz Aranburu who made it through to the quarters, while Reunion Island Maxime Huscenot and Dutch-Moroccan Ramzi Boukhiam making it through to Round 5.

With Aritz securing his third quarter final Prime finish this season (Margarets, Brazil and South Africa), the former world tour competitor is up in 19th place on the world tour rankings. It's clearly still early days but with two out of the remaining five prime events taking place in Europe, Aritz will now certainly have his eye on possible re-qualification for 2014.


Julian Wilson (AUS) 18.93 def Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.70

Semi Final Results:

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.80 def Stu Kennedy (AUS) 9.90

Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.00 def Mitch Crews (AUS) 12.33

Quarter Final Results:

Heat 1: Stu Kennedy (AUS) 12.70 def Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR) 12.16

Heat 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.36 def Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 11.34

Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.40 def David Do Carmo (BRA) 9.44

Heat 4: Mitch Crews (AUS) 13.84 def Mason Ho (HAW) 11.07