The clean two-to-four foot conditions lent themselves perfectly to a wide variety of airs and turns for the final day of competition. And as you would have expected, the heavy Brazilian contingent that had made it through to the quarters (Adriano, Medina and Toledo) all looked very dangerous.

However in the end it was South Africa's powerhouse Jordy Smith who proved unbeatable, topping national fave Adriano de Souza by a score of 17.80 to 16.34. The Billabong Rio Pro victory marks his third career ASP WCT event win but only his first away from South African soil.

“This win feels unbelievable," Smith said. “It’s another dream come true. I knew I could win a World Tour event, but I had to prove to myself that I could do it away from South Africa. Thanks to crowd and Adriano (de Souza). He’s been ripping the whole event. Thanks to all of my friends and family for all of the amazing support."

Jordy now sits at No. 2 on the CT rankings, with Adriano moving up into pole position after his win at Bells. Next stop Fiji! (from June 2nd – 14th)

BILLABONG RIO PRO FINAL RESULTS: 1 – Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.80 2 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 16.34


SF 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 17.64 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.50

SF 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.83 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 8.26


QF 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 15.33 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 12.30

QF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.43 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 14.93

QF 3: Mick Fanning (AUS) 12.50 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 12.37

QF 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.76 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 14.07

ASP WCT TOP 5 SURFERS (Following Billabong Rio Pro);

1. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 18,500 pts

2. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 18,250 pts

3. Mick Fanning (AUS) 18,200 pts

4. Kelly Slater (USA) 16,950 pts

5. Taj Burrow (AUS) 15,700 pts