Hall Wins Saltrock Open

More news from the Saltrock Open that when down in Croyde this weekend.

The benchmark has been set for the UK Pro Surf tour – and what a benchmark! A Phenomenal standard of surfing prevailed across the weekend. Fantastic weather, consistent, clean swell and a great turnout to watch what proved to be the best start to the tour yet.

Sunday saw the majority of the battle for the Men’s Open take place in slightly smaller but cleaner waves. A global list of competitors made for some interesting and challenging heats. Challenging for first place in the final was Russell Winter (Newquay), Glen Hall (Ireland/ Australia), Matt Capel (Newquay) and Alan Stokes (Newquay) battling out as the tide pushed further up the beach.

Despite some tough competition Glen Hall stormed the final with some aggressive surfing despite Matt Capel giving him some serious competition. Russell Winter came back in the later stages but failed to connect them and took second place in a gripping battle full of drama and technical brilliance.

Reuben Ash won the £250 prize provided by Relentless Energy drink for the biggest aerial by pulling off two amazing moves in one heat. Prize for the King of highest scoring wave was won by Sarah Beardmore in the women’s and by Lous Eyre in the juniors on Saturday.

photo: Jason Feast

A strong women’s field also took to the water on Sunday, with Sarah Beardmore (Littlehampton), Gwen Spurlock(Swansea), Jo Dennison (Pembroke) and Tass Swallow (Penzance). World qualifying surfer Sarah Beardmore competing in her first UK Pro Surf tour event dominated the final and took first place with a stunning performance. Sarah clearly thrilled with the event said ‘ Fantastic competition, many thanks to the sponsors and organizers for a great weekend.’

Presenting some epic glass trophies created Dartington Crystal a beaming Ross Thomson form Saltrock said ‘We were delighted with the weekend and with the conditions on Saturday in particular. We couldn’t have wished for better and the standard of surfing was inspiring. Holding the event later in the season was definaty the right move and it was great to see so many people on the beach enjoying the surfing.’

Many Thanks go to all the sponsors and everyone who participated in the contest, surfers and organisers alike, and here’s looking forward to all for the Saltrock Open 2010 event as this one has been an incredible start to the tour and set the standard for an exciting tour to come.

The next UKPST event the Gul Night Surf, 12th – 14th June to be held this year at Fistral Beach, Newquay. See you there.


1st Glen Hall
2nd Russell Winter
3rd Alan Stokes
4th Matt Capel

Sarah Beardmore
Gwen Spurlock
Tass Swallow
Jo Dennison

Pro Junior

1st Lewis Clinton

Under 16 Girls
Gabi Rowe

Under 16 Boys

1st Leon Mansfield

Under 12 Open
Alex Gibson

Relentless Best Aerial:
Reubyn Ash (Bude) Highest Scoring Wave:
Men Luis Eyre
Women Sarah Beardmore


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.