Chris Bertish wins Mavericks Big Wave Contest

Mavericks big wave surf contest ran over the weekend, with South African charger Chris Bertish taking out the event in what many are calling the biggest paddle-in conditions ever ridden. Catch some of the final’s live stream highlights below:

The heavy action left unsuspecting spectators with more than they bargained for when a rogue wave washed over the seawall and injured 15 bystanders:

Final results for the 2009/2010 Mavericks Surf Contest :
1. Chris Bertish
2. Shane Desmond
3. Anthony Tashnick
4. Dave Wassell
5. Carlos Burle
6. Kenny Collins


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.