chile swell forecast

chile swell forecast

Under the new ASP umbrella, athletes and fans ready for first Big Wave event of 2014 as Surfline call for 35-40-foot waves at Pico Alto this Thursday.

As a projected 35-to-40-foot ocean swell descends upon South America, the ASP has just given the green light for the Billabong Pico Alto, Peru for a start this Thursday, July 3.

"The system has intensified off of Antarctica and is heading towards South America with ideal conditions projected for Peru," said ASP Big Wave Commissioner Peter Mel. "After closely monitoring the data and charts over the past couple of days, we have determined that Peru will have the ideal elements necessary for this particular swell. We’re excited. It’s on."

The first of a potential six world-class big wave venues, waves need to be forecast in the 30-foot-and-larger range for events to be called on.

Official forecasters Surfline are calling it the largest swell of the year, thus far, and one of the more impressive swells of the last couple years to slam South America, with a peak in surf for Southern Peru and Pico Alto on Thursday, July 3rd.

Very long period, powerful swell could see face heights in the 25-40 foot range on the sets, with some larger bombs not out of the question.

"We have the best big wave surfers on the planet traveling to Peru from all over the world in anticipation of this swell and the event," Mel continued. "The last time we ran the event in Peru was in 2012 and Carlos Burle, of Brazil, was victorious and the swell we have forming for Thursday’s event will provide an incredible platform upon which these watermen will test their skills."

The 24-man field for the Billabong Pico Alto will be comprised of the ASP BWWT Top 12, lead by reigning world champion Grant 'Twiggy' Baker, as well as six ASP wildcards and six local wildcards:

ASP BWWT Top 12:

1. Grant Baker (ZAF)

2. Ken Collins (USA)

3. Nic Lamb (USA)

4. Shawn Dollar (USA)

5. Kohl Christensen (HAW)

6. Alex Gray (USA)

7. Greg Long (USA)

8. Ryan Augestein (USA)

9. Anthony Tashnick (USA)

10. Ramon Navarro (CHL)

11. Jamie Mitchell (AUS)

12. Tyler Fox (USA)

ASP BWWT Peru Wildcards:

1. Kelly Slater (USA)

2. Ben Wilkinson (AUS)

3. Makua Rothman (HAW)

4. Jamie Sterling (HAW)

5. Carlos Burle (BRA)

6. Gabriel Villaran (PER)

Local Peru Wildcards:

1. Miguel Tudela

2. Rafael Velarde

3. Kodiak Semsch

4. Tamil Martino

5. Alejo Loret del Mola

6. Renzo Zazzali

And best of all don't forget that the event will of course be webcast LIVE via